Leadership Changes at the National Human Services Assembly

Dear Members and Friends,
On behalf of the Board of Directors, we are writing to update you on the leadership changes at the National Human Services Assembly (National Assembly). Last week you or others in your organization may have received an email from Gloria Johnson-Cusack in which she announced her resignation as CEO. As Gloria departs, we thank her for her dedication to the National Assembly. She leaves with the board’s best wishes.

As the National Assembly moves forward in our 93rd year, we continue to play an important role in bringing together the organizations that are committed to a fair and just society for everyone. The National Assembly is doing important work to advance our shared goals. This month marks an important pivot point in our collective effort to reframe human services in the minds of our most important constituencies. Just weeks ago, over 400 leaders participated in our reframing webinar and a full day “train the trainer” session was held in Washington. Templates and a toolkit are posted on our website to empower everyone to benefit from our multi-year work with the Frameworks Institute. The National Assembly is mobilizing ambassadors to reframe how Americans understand social issues, and this action will lead to a clearer understanding of our work in human services, helping influence future funding, mitigate inequality and further our efforts for just public policy.

In the short term, we are pleased that the National Assembly’s former chief executive, President Emeritus Irv Katz, has agreed to serve as Interim CEO beginning on December 1. Meanwhile, we thank you for your continued support. There has rarely been a time in our history when the work of National Assembly members has been more acutely needed by those who find themselves on the hard side of the American dream. There is much good work ahead – and we remain firmly focused.

With warm regards,

Jatrice Martel Gaiter
National Human Services Assembly Board

Joe Haggerty
Immediate Past Chair
National Human Services Assembly Board